GUIDANCE OFFICE

Welcome to CCTEC’s Guidance homepage. The Guidance Department is an integral part of the district’s educational program. Counseling and/or other related services are available to aid students in making informed and responsible decisions concerning life’s many choices – personal, educational, and career/vocational.

Staff

Patricia Robbins, Assistant Principal, Student Services, probbins@cctecnj.org  ext. 3102

Marysol Suppi, Secretary for Student Services, msuppi@cctecnj.org, ext. 3202

Christina Ferus, School Psychologist, cferus@cctecnj.org ext 3301 - Case load includes our STRIVE program (Last name L-Z) and the Cosmetology program

Chuck Oldknow, Social Worker, coldknow@cctecnj.org ext. 3302 - Case load includes our STRIVE program (Last name A-K) and the Welding program

Sharon Gates, School Counselor, sgates@cctecnj.org ext. 3303 - Case load includes all students in the Health Medicine and Science program and Culinary program

Sue Hickey, School Counselor, shickey@cctecnj.org ext. 3206 - Case load includes all students in the Engineering program and Law Enforcement program

William Briggs, School Counselor, wbriggs@cctecnj.org ext. 3307 - Case load includes our IT, Studio Production, Construction Trades, and Auto-Technology programs  

Lauren Sherma, School Counselor, lsherma@cctecnj.org ext. 3304 - School Testing Coordinator

Lauren Muffley, School Counselor, lmuffley@cctecnj.org ext. 3305 - Early College High School Coordinator

Anthony Bermudez, College and Career Pathways Instructor, abermudez@cctecnj.org  ext. 3209 - School to Work Coordinator


Academic Advisement

Students have the opportunity to request an individual appointment with their counselor by completing a form they can obtain from their homeroom teachers. Counselors are also available to answer parents’ questions concerning their child via email or phone.  Counselors meet with students on a regular basis to monitor their attendance and academic progress. They also assist students with information regarding careers, college, and technical training so that our students can achieve their future goals.  Counselors are available to assist students with their college search. By their junior year, students should be researching and, if possible, visiting technical schools and/or colleges.  


Resources to help develop your College and Career plan.  

  1. Naviance - All students will be provided with a Naviance account to assist them in their college and career search.  Through Naviance, students will be able to register for college visits, schedule appointments with college representatives, and submit their college application.  They will also be able to research colleges and trade schools that meet their interest and career goals.  
  2. CollegeBoard - All students are encouraged to sign-up for a CollegeBoard account by going to www.collegeboard.org and clicking "sign up."  Students will need to enter profile information and establish a secure username and password.  They should identify their school as Cumberland County Technical Education Center.  There are many benefits of having a CollegeBoard account.  Listed below are just a few of the benefits.  
    1. Prepare for the PSAT through practice tests
    2. Register for the SAT
    3. Prepare for SAT through free test preparation - Khan Academy
    4. Access to PSAT, SAT, and AP scores
    5. Search for college scholarships
    6. Complete the CSS/Financial Aid Profile
    7. Access to Net Price Calculator  


School Counts!

The School Counts! program provides two-year Cumberland County College tuition scholarships to county residents who earn four consecutive School Counts! certificates from participating high schools. In order to earn a School Counts! certificate, students must:

  • have an exemplary attendance record by not exceeding 9 absences - excused or unexcused absences
  • have achieved a higher-than-average GPA in maintaining a “C” or better in all courses
  • have successfully completed Algebra I; and
  • be scheduled to graduate from high school on time.

Child Study Team

A wide variety of special education program options are available for students who require specialized instruction and/or related services, such as speech/language services, occupational therapy, and physical therapy in order to meet their educational needs.  If you have any questions about our special education programs or feel that your child may require services, please call the office of Special Education at 856-451-9000 ext. 3204.


Intervention and Referral Services

I & RS is an intervention and referral service which is offered to students who develop "at risk" behaviors such as not completing assignments, declining or failing grades, absenteeism, tardiness, decreased participation and other issues that place students at risk for school failure and other problems.  The I & RS team offers services when all other efforts have been exhausted.